Snack a Little Bigger

Hola Wanderers,

So, while I’m writing this post I am eating some freaking awesome chips and queso (treat-yo-self!). But recently, I have been really into food and trying to make some healthier choices. In this post I am not going to tell you to take food away from your daily routine and go on a diet, but to switch some things out and add more sustenance to complete a healthy meal.

Now, where it all starts is the grocery store. One of my biggest problems, after leaving home and living on my own, was shopping for myself. This may happen to many others when going to college or moving away from home. I used to go to the grocery store with my mom and we would buy for 5, maybe 6 people depending on if we had an ex-change students living with us. So, the best thing to do if you have a drastic number drop in people you are eating with/shopping for is to start out small. Buy the mini milk, the smaller cereal box, instead of the family size, and then see how much you really consume during a certain period of time.

Okay, lets talk about food substitutes. Substitutions are more for snacks. For me, I love me some…

  • chips (doritos, cheetos, ruffles, cheez-its),
  • cookies
  • chocolate
  • milk shakes (that’s what my boyfriend said to put? haha)
  • french fries
  • cold, day-after, pizza
  • pop-tarts
  • candy (skittles, starburst, m&m’s)

If all of these were in my presence right now I would devour them but that’s why you substitute when out shopping. Some of these you can’t help, but have but here are better snack options:

  • fruits like strawberries, apricots, oranges, grapes, + apples (fresh or dried)
  • nuts (mixed, in-shell pistachios, walnuts, + almonds)
  • plain greek yogurt (add honey if you want something sweet)
  • avocados
  • eggs (hardboiled is best)
  • cheese (string cheese, mini Babybel light cheese)
  • peanut butter (best w/ bananas or apples OR just a nice spoon full, if you’re into that)
  • nut butter packets (Justin’s almond butter is my favorite + all natural)
  • dark chocolate (it’s best if you really have a sweet tooth)

I would watch out for the breakfast bars. Some of them can contain high fructose corn syrup. Eating a Nature Valley bar is like eating a bowl of sugary cereal like Froot Loops. Instead try some protein bars. Also, if you are really a chip/crisp fan, try lightly salted or veggie.

20170421_172959

Next, how to add healthier option into your meals. This is my favorite thing to do. As a recent college graduate I know it’s hard to cook in dorms of even in general. So much is going on during that time in your life and sometimes cooking is the last thing on one’s mind. If you have a main dishes that are easy like ramen, pizza, a bought rotisserie chicken or anything you can just pop in the oven, add to that! Buy some veggies to make a salad. All you need is some:

  • spinach greens
  • roma tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • avocado
  • onion
  • olive oil + vinigar
  • salt + pepper

20170421_172238

BOOM! Salad made. You can also make this without the greens and have a fabulous cucumber + tomato salad. Make sure to watch out what dressing your use. Ranch + caesar are great, but not as good for you. Also, another healthy option is making a really good hot veggie dish. For this all you need is a pan over the stove top with some olive oil, salt + pepper and start dropping in:

  • zucchini/courgettes
  • onions
  • eggplant/aubergine
  • garlic
  • tomatoes
  • sweet potatoes (cook separately, then add in)

20170303_124735.jpg

This dish is great for winter/fall months but can also be fabulous during any part of the year. If you are a vegetarian you can even have the salad and the veggies as one meal. So healthy! Eating like this is also easier when traveling and it’s great fun going to different markets and picking out produce instead of going to your everyday store.

Just so you know I don’t eat like this all the time but it really does make a difference in how I feel throughout the day. But trust me, I rarely turn down a good burger, greasy pizza, or grand dessert. I really liked sharing this and I hope it helped and informed you. Let me know if you have any tricks to stay healthy or if you have an questions. Adios!

Peace + Love ❤

 

xox,

N

 

 

3 thoughts on “Snack a Little Bigger

Leave a Reply

