DIY : Baby Shower Invitations

Hello Wanderers!

Truely long time no chat. Life got away with me. Between life, an etsy and trying to find a place in this city it took some time. As of now I am expecting a baby end of May and so excited! I thought I’d share some of my planning that is going into my baby shower, starting with the invitations.

INVITATIONS

I’m going with a wildflower theme mostly because as soon as I saw these invites on Zazzle i knew. So the theme chose me. I’ll link everything I used below.

Invitation link

INSPIRATION

Let’s start with inspiration! I loved this wrapped look in the first photo and I have smaller cards to put with the invitation so it was perfect to use them in this manner. I also wanted some calligraphy, for the names and mailing addresses, and cute stamps that might match my color scheme. Now that I have an idea of what I want I got to purchasing the materials I needed.

MATERIALS

After I finally got everything in, I did quite a bit of research on how to do calligraphy. I shortly learned that it is very hard and it takes a long time to master. BUT I also learned that there is faux calligraphy and how to use my ipad has a lightpad to trace. Now all i needed was a good pen/marker. I went with the Tombow Dual Brush Pen in Rhodamine Red, which came out as a hot pink color. Even though I did buy this before I knew I wasn’t going to be amazing at actual calligraphy, in ended up being perfect and I used the fine tip side.

Another way I wanted to personalize these invitations was a wax seal but didn’t feel like doing it myself so I found adhesive ones on Etsy! I searched around and these beautiful hot pink stork seals caught my eye and fell in love. They have so many gorgeous options for baby showers and more. I will definitely be using them again in the future.

Another key item I needed was the material to wrap around the invites and to hold the two smaller cards in place. I looked for different things such as cotton thread, leather, but found a pack of suede cord from Michaels and the colors just fit great with all the colors in the invitations.

PROCESS

After all was complied and the research was done. I started with addressing the invitations. I knew this would take the longest and it did. I also added the return address on the back flap for some flare. I went into my Canva app and created an envelope size project. It took a while to find a font I liked and could easily manipulate to faux calligraphy. Once I had all the slides with everyone’s names and addresses I locked my screen with the brightness all the way up and started to get to work. Luckily I have white invitations or this would have been more difficult so just keep that in mind if you’d like to try.

Next, I put together all of the parts of the invitations. I wrapped the cord around the invites, tying it to the side and then knotted the mini cards on after. To add a bit more flare I had left over baby’s breath from Valentine’s Day flowers, thanks to the husband, and tucked some of that into the cord too.

Lastly, I stuffed the envelope and sealed with a hot pink stork.

FINAL LOOK

I am pretty proud of how they turned out and couldn’t wait to share and send them off to their homes!

Have you ever done some elaborate invites or you would you like to? Let me know in the comments! Or if you have questions 🙂

Keep a look out for baby shower planning post and maybe a pregnancy fashion haul! Till next time wanderers.

Leave a comment